The Tuesday Drop: The Best New Audiobooks This Week, Feb. 4th

This week is a little bit suspenseful, a little bit sci-fi, and a little bit sexy. Here’s what’s new and notable.

Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress audio book by Marissa Meyer

Sci-fi and fantasy collide in Marissa Meyer’s “The Lunar Chronicles” series, mixing classic fairytales with a grim, cybernetic future setting. Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel are re-mixed and re-imagined in this thrilling third installment of the YA series.

 

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Ignite Me audiobook by Tahereh Mafi

Ignite Me is the third book in Mafi’s “Shatter Me” series, a dystopian YA story in the vein of Divergent and Matched: corrupt, oppressive government, super powers, danger and romance–and the cover designs are also pretty sweet.

 

Letting Go by Maya Banks

Letting Go audio book by Maya Banks

Queen of contemporary romance, Maya Banks is back with her brand “Surrender Trilogy”. Widowed Josslyn moves on from a lifetime of love and begins to fulfill more primal desires with the man she last expected–her late husband’s best friend. Kinky.

 

Seduce the Darkness by Gena Showalter

Seduce the Darkness audiobook by Gena Showalter

Gena Showalter shows up with another paranormal romance featuring an unlikely pair: an irresistibly charming king and warrior, and a rough & tumble streetfighter–neither human, of course. From the description: “Together they will enter the seedy world of slave auctions, battle a powerful alien queen whose diseased blood turns humans into cannibals, and discover a passion unlike any other. But in the end, Bride must choose between the man she’s come to love and the family she’s always longed for.”

 

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

Annihilation audio book by Jeff VanderMeer

The first in a new trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer, this bizarro, Lovecraftian thriller tells the story of a doomed expedition to a deadly and mysterious paradise. “If J. J. Abrams, Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weisman collaborated on a novel … it might be this awesome.” Um, yes. Yes please.

 

The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley

The Deepest Secret audio book by Carla Buckley

Eve Lattimore is mother to an ever-more-restless teenage son who, due to a fatal allergy to sunlight, can only leave the house at night (a recipe for disaster if we’ve ever heard one). Her white-knuckled control and constant vigilance can’t protect their family from every crisis, though–and when tragedy strikes, secrets are revealed and everyone is tested.

About the author

Michelle


No Responses | Leave a Comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>