Buy a gift membership & get a FREE gift with purchase!

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (133)

Narrator Rating (1)

Ireland

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By:

Narrated By: Frank Delaney

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Date: February 2005

Duration: 19 hours 33 minutes

Summary:

In the tradition of James Michener and Edward Rutherfurd comes a sweeping saga of the history of Ireland--from prehistoric times to the present--told by a man claiming to be the last living practitioner of the ages-old tradition of the wandering Storyteller.


* Due to the large file size of this title please allow extra time for the download process *

Genres:

  • Sue M.

    Very engaging, one of the best audiobooks I've listened to. The narration was engrossing and the stories wrapped within the story was keenly entwined. Really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Kathi M

    I had this book playing while I was working on a quilt. The stories were so colorful and layered that I found myself sitting stock still and just listening. ...At times a little gory, but those pass quickly and always play an important part in the tonal quality of the story. I can't wait to listen to the last half. I was superbly entertained by the first half! I highly recommend this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Freddie Johnson

    I usually bypass books that are read by the author but this was special. Nobody could have narrated this nearly as well as Frank Delaney. I loved the book and learned so much; if only all teachers could be this clever When I finished the second set, I was sorry to see all my friends (the characters) go.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Tony Crites

    I liked it. I listen in my truck, and always wanted to learn of Ireland. Hope to visit their one day. Loved the stories of long ago, My favoite was about St. Patrick and the snakes. wanted to know how he ran the snakes out of Ireland, now I know. thanks very much.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Don Brubaker

    This is one of those long books that once complete, you are glad that you made the investment to read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    Very fun and enjoyable way to learn a little more about Ireland and her history. I listened while driving in my car, but I wish I could have followed along with a map.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    Loved this book's storytelling format. A wonderful way to learn about places and history without being bored. Very clever of the author. I will be visiting Ireland for the first time this summer and this book definitely put me in the mood and I will be on the lookout for places mentioned in the story.

  • Nancy

    Loved this book, gave me insight about the country and it's history in a delightful folk lore format, kept me engaged. Never boring. Colorful language

  • Anonymous

    Engaging,,,,loved the narrator. Really brought you there.

  • Anonymous

    I enjoyed the first story, but then it got repetitious and boring. I struggled through the first set of CDs, but canceled the second as I just didn't want more of the same.