Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (11)

Narrator Rating (1)

Berserkers: The Beginning

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Fred Saberhagen

Narrated By: Barrett Whitener

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: July 2011

Duration: 15 hours 41 minutes

Summary:

There had been a battle, and the Berserker had met some terrible opponent, taking an awful wound. The cavity reached through level after level of machinery, deck after deck of armor, stopped only by the last inner defenses of the buried, unliving heart. The Berserker had survived, and crushed its enemy.

When Hemphill saw the blasted cavity, he felt a shrinking fear, stunned by the realization of just what it means to fight the Berserker. Hemphill, his pistol ready, his right arm instinctively around Maria, had a bomb and two hundred feet of cord tied around his left arm when he recognized the Berserker's great scar for what it was. The damned thing had survived a level of attempted destruction that rendered the bomb under his arm only a pathetic toy.

'The Berserker stories are war stories, but war stories in the tradition of The Red Badge of Courage and All Quiet on the Western Front.''Baltimore Evening Sun

Genres:

  • Christine

    This Narrator has got to be one of the worst I've ever encountered. I actually timed it - he pauses a full second between sentences! A third grader could read the book better than this, no wonder it takes 12 or so discs. However, the content itself was less than edge-of-your-seat so that may account for some of the monotony as well. I'm currently halfway through the set and I really can only recall one of the stories told so far. And that's only because it's one of the longer ones.

Berserkers: The Beginning

by Fred Saberhagen

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Berserkers: The Beginning, Fred Saberhagen