Classic John Buchan Stories

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: John Buchan

Narrated By: Iain Cuthbertson

Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd.

Date: August 1998

Duration: 2 hours 50 minutes


John Buchan, who served in Intelligence during World War I, wrote over 100 books, including seven collections of short stories. Although he is best known for his five Richard Hannay thrillers (including The 39 Steps, the basis for an Alfred Hitchcock film), some of his most lucid and enjoyable writing can be found in his lesser known short stories. Here are tales about war-time code breaking, cannibalism, and swashbuckling adventure during the times of Bonnie Prince Charlie. They vie with subtler stories, with a more intimate perspective, about the vagaries of human nature, politics, fishing, and poaching, set against the landscape of the lowland Scottish countryside where Buchan spent his youth.

Stories Included:

The Loathly Opposite

Politics and the Mayfly

The Earlier Affection

At the Article of Death

'Divus' Johnston

The Black Fishers

On Cademuir Hill

Ship to Tarshish


Classic John Buchan Stories

by John Buchan

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Classic John Buchan Stories, John Buchan