Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (32)

Narrator Rating (18)

Creativity, Inc.

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Amy Wallace, Ed Catmull

Narrated By: Peter Altschuler

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: April 2014

Duration: 12 hours 55 minutes

Summary:

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award-winning studio behind Inside Out and Toy Story, comes an incisive book about creativity in business-sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Fast Company raves that Creativity, Inc. "just might be the most thoughtful management book ever."

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER |NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYThe Huffington Post
-Financial Times
-Success
- Inc.
- Library Journal

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation-into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture-but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible."

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired-and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success-and in the thirteen movies that followed-was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

- Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
- If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
- It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them.
- The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
- A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.

Praise for Creativity, Inc. "Over more than thirty years, EdCatmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success."-Jim Collins, co-author of Built to Last and author of Good to Great

"Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it."-Seth Godin

From the Hardcover edition.

Genres:

  • Kalyan B

    Great book to listen to. However the volume seemed a little low and was mildly infuriating at times.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Christy S

    Love the book and will need to have an actual hard copy to highlight the pieces that pulled on me. Although it might be my settings, the narrator reads like a bit too slow for my “in the car” reading style. Love his voice, love the book, impressed with candor!

  • Anthony Truong

    Great book, learned so much from a leader in creativity. Narrator was great, exactly how I pictured Ed Catmull to sound like!

  • Lisa McQuade

    wonderful book and very enjoyable. Loved learning about Pixar and Steve Jobs role.

  • Edgardo Pineda

    Awesome book. Love the way it was written and narrated. Both engaging and definitely not boring. It was long though. It was very interesting to hearing about the history of movies that my family watched and loved. Additionally, it was nice to hear about a different side of Steve Jobs. Great book!

  • Arleen Mills

    Very enjoyable book! I loved learning about the birth of Pixar, and Ed Catmul's management style. The narrator was very easy to listen to. Would recommend this book to anyone!

  • Brenda Ortiz

    Love the voice of the narrator, clear voice, slow, and for those who speek several languages great speaking. Great book also

  • Erik Peterson

    The best thing I can say about this book is that I was sorry to see it end. Insightful and authentic, it's a wonderful listen for anyone in a creative field, not just managers. It took me a bit to get used to the narrator, but by the end he had me believing he was speaking for Ed Catmull.