Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Ava Homa

Narrated By: Vaneh Assadourian

Date: August 2020

Duration: 11 hours 5 minutes

Summary:

The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman’s perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother—the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer.

Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes readers into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep piling up. Leila’s younger brother Chia, influenced by their father’s past torture, imprisonment, and his deep-seated desire for justice, begins to engage with social and political affairs. But his activism grows increasingly risky and one day he disappears in Tehran. Seeking answers about her brother’s whereabouts, Leila fears the worst and begins a campaign to save him. But when she publishes Chia’s writings online, she finds herself in grave danger as well.

Daughters of Smoke and Fire is an evocative portrait of the lives and stakes faced by 40 million stateless Kurds and a powerful story that brilliantly illuminates the meaning of identity and the complex bonds of family, perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun.

Genres:

Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel

by Ava Homa

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel, Ava Homa
Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel, Ava Homa
This title is due for release on August 11, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel, Ava Homa
This title is due for release on August 11, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel, Ava Homa
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel, Ava Homa

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.