Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Rosa Rankin-Gee

Narrated By: Kristin Atherton

Date: April 2021

Duration: 13 hours 8 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Children of Men, Years and Years & Station Eleven, a postcard from a future Britain that’s closer than we think.

 ‘A beautiful book: thought-provoking, eerily prescient and very witty.’ Brit Bennett, author of The Vanishing Half

'Water courses through its pages, as rising sea levels heighten inequalities, buoy populist politicians and wash away every certainty of civilisation. But there’s also the novel’s prose – its liquid grace and glinting sparkle – and the sheer irresistibility of a narrative that sweeps along with a force that feels tidal in its pull.' The Observer

''You said that you would come back. You looked me in the eye and said that. Well, if you had, this is what you would have seen: soft wood, black cracks, fridges in the road. The broken spines of old rides at Dreamland.'

In the coastal resort of Margate, hotels lie empty and sun-faded ‘For Sale’ signs line the streets. The sea is higher – it’s higher everywhere – and those who can are moving inland. A young girl called Chance, however, is just arriving.

 Chance’s family is one of many offered a cash grant to move out of London - and so she, her mother Jas and brother JD relocate to the seaside, just as the country edges towards vertiginous change. 

In their new home, they find space and wide skies, a world away from the cramped bedsits they’ve lived in up until now. But challenges swiftly mount. JD’s business partner, Kole, has a violent, charismatic energy that whirlpools around him and threatens to draw in the whole family. And when Chance comes across Franky, a girl her age she has never seen before – well-spoken and wearing sunscreen – something catches in the air between them. Their fates are bound: a connection that is immediate, unshakeable, and, in a time when social divides have never cut sharper, dangerous. Set in a future unsettlingly close to home, against a backdrop of soaring inequality and creeping political extremism, Rankin-Gee demonstrates, with cinematic pace and deep humanity, the enduring power of love and hope in a world spinning out of control.
 

Genres:

Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021

by Rosa Rankin-Gee

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021, Rosa Rankin-Gee
Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021, Rosa Rankin-Gee
This title is due for release on April 15, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021, Rosa Rankin-Gee
This title is due for release on April 15, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021, Rosa Rankin-Gee
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Dreamland: An Evening Standard 'Best New Book' of 2021, Rosa Rankin-Gee

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.