Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (13)

Narrator Rating (2)

Girl at War

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Sara Novic

Narrated By: Julia Whelan

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: May 2015

Duration: 7 hours 34 minutes

Summary:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE
- ALEX AWARD WINNER
- LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST
- For readers of The Tigers Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girls coming of age - and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatias capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Anas idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Anas sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though shes tried to move on from her past, she cant escape her memories of war - secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her countrys difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl - and its legacy on all of us. Its a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

"Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth." - The New York Times Book Review (Editors Choice)

"[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the readers attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes." - Vanity Fair

"Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literatures more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence." - USA Today

"Gripping . . . Nović, in tender and eloquent prose, explores the challenge of how to live even after one has survived." - O: The Oprah Magazine

"Powerful and vividly wrought . . . Nović writes about horrors with an elegant understatement. In cool, accomplished sentences, we are met with the gravity, brutality and even the mundaneness of war and loss as well as the enduring capacity to live." - San Francisco Chronicle

"Intimate and immense . . . a writer whose own gravity and talent anchor this novel." - The New York Times

"An important and profoundly moving reading experience." - The National

"Remarkable." - Julia Glass, The Boston Globe

"[A] powerful, gorgeous debut novel." - Adam Johnson, The Week

"An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual . . . a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind." - Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story


From the Hardcover edition.

Genres:

  • Melanie Kramer

    I really enjoyed this book and the narrator handled the different ages, genders, and languages really well. the only negative thing I can say is that I wanted the book to keep going. I wasn't paying attention to how far into it I was and I was surprised when it ended. I understand why the author closed the book when she did but I wanted more.

  • Lynn Laursen

    Very interesting book. Well written. Captivating. Very compelling.

  • Robin Maddox

    I love a gripping fictional book that teaches me a non-fictional history lesson in the telling and Girl of War did not disappoint. It was riveting right up to the very end.. Which kind of just.. Well, ended. I was left with so many questions that it led me to hold back a star. I honestly thought maybe here was a part 2. I could download. Wishful thinking. Still, this is a must read. BTW, I discovered this book from a free newsletter, the Skimm. It's a 5 min read each day and well worth the time. Anyone interested can follow this link. http://www.theskimm.com/?r=8628f3ad