Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood

Unabridged Audiobook

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (9)

Narrator Rating (6)

Written By: Ice-T ., Douglas Century

Narrated By: Mirron Willis

Date: April 2011

Duration: 7 hours 35 minutes

Summary:

For readers of Sister Souljah's No Disrespect, Nathan McCall's Makes Me Wanna Holler, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Monster by Sanyika Shakur comes the definitive memoir from Ice-T, the acclaimed rapper and actor known for telling it like it is.
He's a hip-hop icon credited with single-handedly creating gangsta rap. Television viewers know him as Detective Odafin "Fin" Tutuola on the top-rated drama Law & Order: SVU. But where the hype and the headlines end, the real story of Ice-T-the one few of his millions of fans have ever heard-truly begins. Ice is Ice-T in his own words-raw, uncensored, and unafraid to speak his mind. He talks about his orphan upbringing on the gang-infested streets of South Central, his four-year stint in the US Army, his successful career as a hustler and thief, and his fateful decision to turn away from a life of crime and forge his own path to international stardom. Along the way, Ice shares never-before-told stories about friends such as Tupac, Dick Wolf, Chris Rock, and Flavor Flav, among others. He also offers up candid observations on marriage and monogamy, the current state of hip-hop, and his latest passion: mentoring at-risk youths around the country.
With insights into the cutthroat world of the street-and the cutthroat world of Hollywood-Ice is the unforgettable story of a true American original.

Genres:

  • A W.

    I liked this book a lot..it comes across as MOSTLY good..I have an issue with the ME TOO compatibility thing..but he comes across as truthful (for the most part)..he tells a good story about 1) being orphaned..2) being light-skinned..and 3) being a real person FOR THE MOST PART..I didn't know that he was military..I'd recommend this book HIGHLY to anyone who's into a REAL story about redemption, street life, and the plight of inner city youth in the 70s-early 80s..Salute to Ice-T..and I'm proud of him..he doesn't come off as a LIKEABLE person..(I have to tell the truth..HE'S ARROGANT)..But I liked the fact that he's truthful (again..FOR THE MOST PART)..thank you all for reading my reviews..Peace and Blessings..A-Weapons Mid-Lyfe Music

  • Leisa S.

    I really enjoyed learning about Ice T’s life and the difficulties and drama. He has come a long way in this world.

  • Jason Y.

    Great insight into a very colorful life.

  • Paul Rosenkrans

    I was surprised , the book was awesome, I have a new respect for Ice, narrator was also great.

Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood

by Ice-T ., Douglas Century

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood, Ice-T ., Douglas Century
Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood, Ice-T ., Douglas Century
This title is due for release on April 19, 2011.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood, Ice-T ., Douglas Century
This title is due for release on April 19, 2011
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood, Ice-T ., Douglas Century
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption'from South Central to Hollywood, Ice-T ., Douglas Century

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.