Malice

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: John Gwynne

Narrated By: John Keating

Publisher: Recorded Books

Date: December 2013

Duration: 25 hours 55 minutes

Summary:

In this epic fantasy debut perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin, John Gwynne takes readers to The Banished Lands - a broken world with a violent past. Corban wants nothing more than to be a warrior under King Brenin's rule - to protect and serve. But that day will come all too soon. And the price he pays will be in blood. Evnis has sacrificed - too much it seems. But what he wants - the power to rule -- will soon be in his grasp. And nothing will stop him once he has started on his path. Veradis is the newest member of the warband for the High Prince, Nathair. He is one of the most skilled swordsman to come out of his homeland, yet he is always under the shadow of his older brother. Nathair has ideas - and a lot of plans. Many of them don't involve his father, the High King Aquilus. Nor does he agree with his father's idea to summon his fellow kings to council.

Genres:

  • Kristen Simler

    I found both this book and the narrator a "work in progress". It took over half the book before I felt like the author started his story and the narrator was really dry for my taste. Putting those two issues together, I struggled to truly enjoy what I was listening to. I will say once I was used to the narrator and the all the pieces of the story started to form a whole picture my enjoyment of the book increased. I cannot say that I loved this book but I will offer that is worth a read or listen.