Written By: Marion Zimmer Bradley

Narrated By: Davina Porter

Date: March 2009

Duration: 13 hours 59 minutes

Summary:

In the tradition of T.H. White's The Once and Future King, the author makes use of the prerequisites of the Arthurian legend: Excalibur, the Holy Grail, Lancelet's illicit love for Gwenhwyfar, the destruction of Camelot, but with a twist--she presents the entire panoramic story from the female point of view. No passive by-standers, these earthy priestesses from Avalon literally breathe life into a musty, oft-told tale. In Book One: Mistress of Magic, the Lady of the Lake--Viviane--brings about the marriage of her younger sister Igraine to Uther Pendragon. Their only child, Arthur, is believed to be the last hope in the long standing war between Saxons and Romans. Meanwhile, Morgaine, Igraine's daughter by her first marriage to Gorlois, has come under the apprenticeship of Viviane at Avalon. In spite of her great love and hope for Morgaine, Viviane is driven by an unrelenting vision. Miserable, but duty-bound, she tricks Morgaine and Arthur into becoming lovers during the night of the ritual fires. Enraged and shamed by what her aunt has done, Morgaine plans to rid herself of the child that has resulted from their union. Book one ends with Arthur's coronation and Morgaine's decision to leave Avalon.

Genres:

  • Anonymous

    I read this book decades ago. Wonderful to spend time with old friends again. Great story, too. Fun to recognize the narrator, Davina Porter, from the Outlander series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Marion D.

    An excellent read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    excellent reading, Looking forward to the next book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Ann P.

    Beautifully written.A great story. Such an amazing epilogue. The narrator was perfect. Brava!

  • Jennifer D.

    This book is exhausting and is not worth 50+ hours of investing!! The only thing redeemable is the narrator, Great work Davina Porter. This is a retelling of Arthurian legends with a perspective favoring ancient pagan traditions and the women perspective, which I thought would be very interesting. But unfortunately, the plot isn't anything new and goes on and on and on about how terrible Christianity and other organized dogma are.

  • Anonymous

    Davina Porter really captures the magic of my favorite book from my formative years! This female-centric version of the Arthurian Legend is brought to vivid life by a spectacular narrator. A “must listen” for fans of fantasy, history, occult, and chivalric tales!

  • Lou Ann B.

    Such a nice getaway to times past where dragons roam. Thoroughly enjoyed and have started "The High Queen" already!

  • Anonymous

    Can’t wait for you to have part 2 available.

  • Sarah K.

    Excellent narration by davina porter, a long winded version of Arthur and Camelot focusing on the women of the stories and not the “heroic” male counterparts of the story, worth a listen:

  • Anonymous

    A unique take on the Authurian legend. A book worth listening to more than once. Camelot from a feminine POV.

  • Susan R.

    The story was really fun, suspenseful and just couldn’t put the book down. I love Davina Porter as the narrative.

  • Edward S.

    This book is well thought out and the story so well told.

  • Rachel O

    I really enjoyed it and have downloaded next one in the series. Great narration.

  • Alexandrine Ceballos

    I finished this book in 3 days because I was so mesmerized! If you're a fan of folklore and ancient traditions this book should be right up your alley. The subtext of wisdom is incredible and makes me question the way we live our lives in this day and age. There truly are valuable lessons to learn from the past. The narrator was wonderful. Overall super happy I've already started the second book

  • Kristin Carpenter

    Great read! I love the back story told from a woman's perspective.

  • Bryan Stanton

    Great book. Decent narration. Sometimes the audio was doubled.

  • Gina Marcelin

    Could not finish this book. I feel like I must be missing something because it is so popular. Whatever it is, I don't see it.

Mists of Avalon: Mistress of Magic

by Marion Zimmer Bradley

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Mists of Avalon: Mistress of Magic, Marion Zimmer Bradley
Mists of Avalon: Mistress of Magic, Marion Zimmer Bradley
This title is due for release on March 6, 2009.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Mists of Avalon: Mistress of Magic, Marion Zimmer Bradley
This title is due for release on March 6, 2009
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Mists of Avalon: Mistress of Magic, Marion Zimmer Bradley
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Mists of Avalon: Mistress of Magic, Marion Zimmer Bradley

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.