Scenes of Clerical Life

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: George Eliot

Narrated By: Nadia May

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: January 2006

Duration: 14 hours 8 minutes


George Eliot's fiction debut work contains three stories of the lives of clergymen, with the aim of disclosing the value hidden in the commonplace. "The Sad Fortunes of the Rev. Amos Barton" portrays a character who is hard to like and easy to ridicule. "Mr. Gilfil's Love-Story," brings forth conflicting value systems revolving around a young woman, Caterina, and two men. "Janet's Repentance" is an account of conversion from sinfulness to righteousness achieved through the selfless endeavors of a clergyman.

"The exquisite truth and delicacy, both of the humour and the pathos of those stories, I have never seen the like of." -Charles Dickens


Scenes of Clerical Life

by George Eliot

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Scenes of Clerical Life, George Eliot