Tales for a Winter's Night

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Narrated By: William Sutherland

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: January 2006

Duration: 6 hours 0 minutes


Tales for a Winter's Night brings together eight Arthur Conan Doyle mystery classics that originally appeared in The Strand between July 1898 and January 1899. When the stories were first gathered into one volume in 1908, the book was titled Round the Fire Stories because the author intended they be read ideally "'round the fire" on a winter's night. According to Barzun and Taylor in A Catalogue of Crime, "As one reads "˜The Man with the Watches,' "˜The Lost Special,' "˜The Jew's Breastplate,' "˜The Black Doctor,' and the rest, one marvels again at Doyle's natural gift of storytelling. . . . The stories are worth reading even around a radiator."


Tales for a Winter's Night

by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Tales for a Winter's Night, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle