The Water Witch: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Juliet Dark

Narrated By: Justine Eyre

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: August 2013

Duration: 9 hours 45 minutes

Summary:

Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Witch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic.

After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of Gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the honeysuckle forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine stream, more trouble is stirring.

The enchanted town of Fairwick’s dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie’s grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter’s compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college. To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, a seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart.

“A lighthearted, fast moving fantasy…The Water Witch should appeal to readers of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse novels.”—New York Journal of Books

Genres:

  • Amy Bass

    I can't listen to it! I tried multiple times, but the narrator is HORRIBLE! Who speaks in this ridiculous tone?!! So disappointing! I will have fine an actual hard copy to read it- the narrator makes it unable to endure! Ugh!!!