13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Mona Awad

Narrated By: Jorjeana Marie

Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks

Date: November 2019

Duration: 6 hours 28 minutes

Summary:

A hilarious, deeply resonant and at times shocking novel about the harmful beauty standards imposed on women. A must-read for fans of Lena Dunham, Roxane Gay and Caitlin Moran.

Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks - even though her best friend Mel says she's the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she's afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose weight. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl? In her brilliant, hilarious and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heart-breaking, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girlintroduces a vital new voice in fiction.

Genres:

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

by Mona Awad

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, Mona Awad
13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, Mona Awad
This title is due for release on November 14, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, Mona Awad
This title is due for release on November 14, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, Mona Awad
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, Mona Awad

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.