The Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga

Unabridged Audiobook

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating

Narrator Rating

Written By: Karen Dickson

Narrated By: Jess Nesling

Date: April 2021

Duration: 10 hours 50 minutes

Summary:

‘A compelling saga that will hold you fast from the first page to the last. Loved it’ VAL WOOD, author of The Lonely Wife

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Gracie Hart, The Dressmaker’s Secret is a moving and heartfelt family saga from the talented author of The Shop Girl’s Soldier.
 
Dorset, 1876. When young Beatrice Cullen shows up in the local church with her illegitimate child in her arms, Reverend Michael Redfern takes it upon himself to help her.
 
He finds her daughter, Lily, a home with a kindly couple. But when, at the age of 9, Lily loses her adopted parents, she is forced to live with her awful Aunt Doris and cousin Jez, who treat her no better than a slave. Lily can only seek solace in her dream of one day escaping her aunt and becoming a seamstress.
 
Five years later, now aged fourteen, Lily makes a startling discovery: that her birth father is none other than local aristocrat Sir Frederick Copperfield. Lily is stunned. And when she gets the chance to work for the Copperfields, she can't pass up the opportunity to get to know her half-sister Eleanor.
 
But will Eleanor ever really get to know her, or will Lily’s true identity forever remain a secret?

'This rollercoaster of a novel draws you in from the first page. Expertly researched and a fabulous storyline with real heart at the centre... I devoured this in one sitting and look forward to more from this author. In short a gem of a read' FIONA FORD, author of Wartime at Liberty's

'A delight to read... Lily Hayter is a wonderful heroine whose resilience and integrity shine through as she struggles to claim a life of her choosing and find a family. At the heart of the story is a warmth and humanity that makes it a truly uplifting read. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was sorry when I reached the end because I wanted to linger in Dickson’s world. I eagerly await more from Karen Dickson' VICKI BEEBY, author of The Ops Room Girls

'The characters in this novel are so believable that I cared deeply about them from the first chapter. A heartfelt, hopeful account of one young woman’s fight to keep her child safe when all the odds are against her. Atmospheric and beautifully written' JAN CASEY, author of The Women of Waterloo Bridge 

‘An exciting, fresh and talented new voice – a five-star read!’ CAROL RIVERS on The Shop Girl’s Soldier

Genres:

Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga

by Karen Dickson

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga, Karen Dickson
Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga, Karen Dickson
This title is due for release on April 15, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga, Karen Dickson
This title is due for release on April 15, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga, Karen Dickson
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Dressmaker's Secret: A heart-warming family saga, Karen Dickson

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.