Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (21)

Narrator Rating (5)

The Girl They Left Behind: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Roxanne Veletzos

Narrated By: Cassandra Campbell

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Date: October 2018

Duration: 10 hours 57 minutes

Summary:

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor’s dark secrets.

When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.

Genres:

  • Anonymous

    Love listening to Cassandra Campbell

Girl They Left Behind: A Novel

by Roxanne Veletzos

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Girl They Left Behind: A Novel, Roxanne Veletzos
Girl They Left Behind: A Novel, Roxanne Veletzos
This title is due for release on October 9, 2018.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Girl They Left Behind: A Novel, Roxanne Veletzos
This title is due for release on October 9, 2018
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Girl They Left Behind: A Novel, Roxanne Veletzos
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Girl They Left Behind: A Novel, Roxanne Veletzos

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.