The Ash Family: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Molly Dektar

Narrated By: Emily Woo Zeller

Date: April 2019

Duration: 9 hours 31 minutes

Summary:

When a young woman leaves her family to join a secret off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this “stunning debut,” (The New Yorker) “perfect for fans of Philip Roth’s American Pastoral and the film Martha Marcy May Marlene” (Booklist, starred review).

At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at a bus station near her home in North Carolina. Shut off from the people around her, she finds herself compelled by his promise of a new life. He ferries her into a place of order and chaos: the Ash Family farm. There, she joins a community living off the fertile land of the mountains, bound together by high ideals and through relationships she can’t untangle. Berie—now renamed Harmony—renounces her old life and settles into her new one on the farm. She begins to make friends. And then they start to disappear.

“An excellent debut, Molly Dektar probes life in a cult with a masterful hand, excavating the troubled mind of a young woman,” (Publishers Weekly). The Ash Family explores what we will sacrifice in the search for happiness, and the beautiful and grotesque power of the human spirit as it seeks its ultimate place of belonging. “A captivating and haunting tale” (New York Journal of Books).

Genres:

Ash Family: A Novel

by Molly Dektar

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Ash Family: A Novel, Molly Dektar
Ash Family: A Novel, Molly Dektar
This title is due for release on April 9, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Ash Family: A Novel, Molly Dektar
This title is due for release on April 9, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Ash Family: A Novel, Molly Dektar
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Ash Family: A Novel, Molly Dektar

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.