Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Evan James

Narrated By: Jonathan Davis

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Date: March 2019

Duration: 9 hours 29 minutes

Summary:

Named one of 2019’s most anticipated reads by Entertainment Weekly, “a hilarious and witty joy of a novel about a family’s insanely dramatic summer at their new island home” (Cosmopolitan) in the Pacific Northwest.

The inimitable—some might say incorrigible—Frank Widdicombe is suffering from a deep depression. Or so his wife, Carol, believes. But Carol is convinced that their new island home—Willowbrook Manor on the Puget Sound—is just the thing to cheer him up. And so begins a whirlwind summer as their house becomes the epicenter of multiple social dramas involving the family, their friends, and a host of new acquaintances.

The Widdicombes’ son, Christopher, is mourning a heartbreak after a year abroad in Italy. Their personal assistant, Michelle, begins a romance with preppy screenwriter Bradford, who also happens to be Frank’s tennis partner. Meanwhile, a local named Marvelous Matthews is hired to create a garden at the manor—and is elated to find Gracie Sloane, bewitching self-help author, in residence as well. When this alternately bumbling and clever cast of characters comes together, they turn “as frothy and bitter as a pot of freshly brewed dark-roast coffee, the kind that’s always available on the Widdicombe’s sideboard. And the dialogue, oh how it singes and sears” (The Washington Post).

A “gleefully over-the-top satiric debut” (Kirkus Reviews), Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe is perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Andrew Sean Greer’s Less, and Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins.

Genres:

Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel

by Evan James

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel, Evan James
Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel, Evan James
This title is due for release on March 26, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel, Evan James
This title is due for release on March 26, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel, Evan James
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel, Evan James

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.