The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began

Written by:
Valerie Hansen
Narrated by:
Cynthia Farrell

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
Narrator
Release Date
April 2020
Duration
8 hours 59 minutes
Summary
*A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice*

From celebrated Yale professor Valerie Hansen, a “vivid” and “astonishingly comprehensive account [that] casts world history in a brilliant new light” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and shows how bold explorations and daring trade missions first connected all of the world’s societies at the end of the first millennium.

People often believe that the years immediately prior to AD 1000 were, with just a few exceptions, lacking in any major cultural developments or geopolitical encounters, that the Europeans hadn’t yet reached North America, and that the farthest feat of sea travel was the Vikings’ invasion of Britain. But how, then, to explain the presence of blond-haired people in Maya temple murals at Chichén Itzá, Mexico? Could it be possible that the Vikings had found their way to the Americas during the height of the Maya empire?

Valerie Hansen, an award-winning historian, argues that the year 1000 was the world’s first point of major cultural exchange and exploration. Drawing on nearly thirty years of research, she presents a compelling account of first encounters between disparate societies, which sparked conflict and collaboration eerily reminiscent of our contemporary moment.

For readers of Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens, The Year 1000 is a “fascinating…highly impressive, deeply researched, lively and imaginative work” (The New York Times Book Review) that will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about how the modern world came to be.
Genres
The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began
This title is due for release on April 14, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began
This title is due for release on April 14, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$19.99
View Cart