Elegant Woman: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Martha Mcphee

Narrated By: Gabra Zackman

Date: June 2020

Duration: 11 hours 34 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Mary Beth Keane and Jennifer Egan, this powerful, moving multigenerational saga from National Book Award finalist Martha McPhee—ten years in the making—explores one family’s story against the sweep of 20th century American history.

Drawn from the author’s own family history, An Elegant Woman is a story of discovery and reinvention, following four generations of women in one American family. As Isadora, a novelist, and two of her sisters sift through the artifacts of their forebears’ lives, trying to decide what to salvage and what to toss, the narrative shifts to a winter day in 1910 at a train station in Ohio. Two girls wait in the winter cold with their mother—the mercurial Glenna Stewart—to depart for a new life in the West. As Glenna campaigns in Montana for women’s suffrage and teaches in one-room schoolhouses, Tommy takes care of her little sister, Katherine: trapping animals, begging, keeping house, cooking, while Katherine goes to school. When Katherine graduates, Tommy makes a decision that will change the course of both of their lives.

A profound meditation on memory, history, and legacy, An Elegant Woman follows one woman over the course of the 20th century, taking the reader from a drought-stricken farm in Montana to a yellow Victorian in Maine; from the halls of a psychiatric hospital in London to a wedding gown fitting at Bergdorf Goodman; from a house in small town Ohio to a family reunion at a sweltering New Jersey pig roast. Framed by Isadora’s efforts to retell her grandmother’s journey—and understand her own—the novel is an evocative exploration of the stories we tell ourselves, and what we leave out.

Genres:

Elegant Woman: A Novel

by Martha Mcphee

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Elegant Woman: A Novel, Martha Mcphee
Elegant Woman: A Novel, Martha Mcphee
This title is due for release on June 2, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Elegant Woman: A Novel, Martha Mcphee
This title is due for release on June 2, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Elegant Woman: A Novel, Martha Mcphee
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Elegant Woman: A Novel, Martha Mcphee

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.