Written By: Katharina Volckmer

Narrated By: Katharina Volckmer

Date: September 2020

Duration: 2 hours 53 minutes

Summary:

“A darkly funny untangling of national and sexual identity.” —The Guardian * “Transgressive...Incendiary.” —The New Yorker * “A furious comic monologue...with a disregard for propriety worthy of Alexander Portnoy.” —The New York Times Book Review * “Sexy, hilarious, and subversive.” —The Paris Review

For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Han Kang, a whip-smart debut novel in which a woman on the verge of major change addresses her doctor in a stream of consciousness narrative.

In a well-appointed examination in London, a young woman unburdens herself to a certain Dr. Seligman. Though she can barely see above his head, she holds forth about her life and desires, her struggles with her sexuality and identity. Born and raised in Germany, she has been living in London for several years, determined to break free from her family origins and her haunted homeland. But the recent death of her grandfather, and an unexpected inheritance, make it clear that you cannot easily outrun your own shame, whether it be physical, familial, historical, national, or all of the above.

Or can you? With Dr. Seligman’s help, our narrator will find out.

In a monologue that is both deliciously dark and subversively funny, she takes us on a wide-ranging journey from Hitler-centered sexual fantasies and overbearing mothers to the medicinal properties of squirrel tails and the notion that anatomical changes can serve as historical reparation. The Appointment is an audacious debut novel by an explosive new international literary voice, challenging all of our notions of what is fluid and what is fixed, and the myriad ways we seek to make peace with others and ourselves in the 21st century.

Genres:

Appointment: A Novel

by Katharina Volckmer

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Appointment: A Novel, Katharina Volckmer
Appointment: A Novel, Katharina Volckmer
This title is due for release on September 1, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Appointment: A Novel, Katharina Volckmer
This title is due for release on September 1, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Appointment: A Novel, Katharina Volckmer
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Appointment: A Novel, Katharina Volckmer

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.