Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick

Written by:
J. David Mcswane
Narrated by:
Matt Godfrey

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
Narrator
Release Date
April 2022
Duration
10 hours 4 minutes
Summary
For readers of War Dogs and Bad Blood, an explosive look inside the rush to profit from the COVID-19 pandemic, from the award-winning ProPublica reporter who saw it firsthand.

The United States federal government has spent over $10 billion on medical protective wear and emergency supplies, yet as COVID-19 swept the nation, life-saving equipment such as masks, gloves, and ventilators was nearly impossible to find.

In this brilliant nonfiction thriller, award-winning investigative reporter J. David McSwane takes us behind the scenes to reveal how traders, contractors, and healthcare companies used one of the darkest moments in American history to fill their pockets. Determined to uncover how this was possible, he spent over a year on private jets and in secret warehouses, traveling from California to Chicago to Washington DC, to interview both the most treacherous of profiteers and the victims of their crimes.

Pandemic, Inc. is the story of the fraudster who signed a multi-million-dollar contract with the government to provide lifesaving PPE, and yet never came up with a single mask. The Navy admiral at the helm of the national hunt for additional medical resources. The Department of Health whistleblower who championed masks early on and was silenced by the government and conservative media. And the politician who callously slashed federal emergency funding and gutted the federal PPE stockpile.

Winner of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, McSwane connects the dots between backdoor deals and the spoils systems to provide the definitive account of how this pandemic was so catastrophically mishandled. Shocking and revelatory, Pandemic, Inc. exposes a system that is both deeply rigged, and singularly American.


THIS AUDIOBOOK MAY INCLUDE INFORMATION REGARDING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC. INFORMATION RELATED TO COVID-19 CONTINUES TO EVOLVE. AUDIOBOOKS.COM ENCOURAGES YOU TO SEEK UP-TO-DATE INFORMATION AND GUIDANCE FROM YOUR LOCAL PUBLIC HEALTH UNIT.
Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick
This title is due for release on April 12, 2022.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick
This title is due for release on April 12, 2022
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 Book added to cart
Subtotal
$23.99
View Cart