All Systems Red

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Martha Wells

Narrated By: Kevin R. Free

Publisher: Recorded Books

Date: October 2017

Duration: 3 hours 18 minutes

Summary:

All Systems Red is the first tense science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld and Ex Machina. All Systems Red by Martha Wells begins The Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and adventure series that tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. It appeals to fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans. In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety. But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern. On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot." Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.

Genres:

  • Adrienne E.

    This book was alright. I gave it a quick listen at the suggestion of another reader when I said I was re-reading HGTTG. It had some entertaining moments listening to the internal dialog of bot, whose POV the story is told from, but in the end, I think sci-fi is mostly just not for me. I've also read some Asimov, and I feel like this book really didn't give me much to think about, except for plot holes and the cognitive dissonance it created... E.g. This bot hacked its own governance module and continued to do its job, but repeatedly said it didn't care and was just programmed to carry out tasks. If this robot really had as much self-awareness as this book tried to make us think it did, why didn't it hack other parts of itself to dismantle that programming to see what would happen? I feel like repeatedly saying, "I don't care" was just a way to not delve into those kinds of questions. I appreciate the thought that people put into exploring the unknown regarding artificial intelligence, feelings, and actions, but it just feels so incongruent.

All Systems Red

by Martha Wells

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

All Systems Red, Martha Wells