Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (17)

Narrator Rating (5)

The Angel's Game

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Narrated By: Dan Stevens

Date: June 2009

Duration: 15 hours 25 minutes


From master storyteller Carlos Ruiz Zafón, author of the international phenomenon The Shadow of the Wind, comes The Angel’s Game—a dazzling new page-turner about the perilous nature of obsession, in literature and in love.

“The whole of Barcelona stretched out at my feet and I wanted to believe that, when I opened those windows, its streets would whisper stories to me, secrets I could capture on paper and narrate to whomever cared to listen . . .”

In an abandoned mansion at the heart of Barcelona, a young man, David Martín, makes his living by writing sensationalist novels under a pseudonym. The survivor of a troubled childhood, he has taken refuge in the world of books and spends his nights spinning baroque tales about the city’s underworld. But perhaps his dark imaginings are not as strange as they seem, for in a locked room deep within the house lie photographs and letters hinting at the mysterious death of the previous owner.

Like a slow poison, the history of the place seeps into his bones as he struggles with an impossible love. Close to despair, David receives a letter from a reclusive French editor, Andreas Corelli, who makes him the offer of a lifetime. He is to write a book unlike anything that has ever existed—a book with the power to change hearts and minds. In return, he will receive a fortune, and perhaps more. But as David begins the work, he realizes that there is a connection between his haunting book and the shadows that surround his home.
Once again, Zafón takes us into a dark, gothic universe first seen in the Shadow of the Wind and creates a breathtaking adventure of intrigue, romance, and tragedy. Through a dizzingly constructed labyrinth of secrets, the magic of books, passion, and friendship blend into a masterful story.


  • Laura A.

    The first time I read this I was disappointed because it didn’t seem like much of a sequel to Shadow Of the Wind. I found it confusing and disappointing - it takes place prior to shadow and besides the Cemetery Of Forgotten Books there isn’t much overlap. However, after the third book, the Prisoner of Heaven came out and I read that the author meant for books 2 and 3 of the series (the angles game and the prisoner Of heaven) to be read in either order, and it had good reviews I gave it a try, this time reading The Prisoner is Heaven second and then The Angels Game, I found it much easier to follow and enjoyed this book much more. Prisoner of Heaven also makes clear how Shadow and the Angels Game are tied together. So while not as good as Shadow of the Wind, it’s still a good book in a great series, definitely worth reading, though I do recommend reading Prisoner of Heaven first.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Noel E.

    Great book The order goes like this: Angel’s game, Prisoner of Heaven and Shadow of the wind if you read it like that it would make sense but I started with shadow of the wind. Enjoy it

Angel's Game

by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Angel's Game, Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Angel's Game, Carlos Ruiz Zafón
This title is due for release on June 16, 2009.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Angel's Game, Carlos Ruiz Zafón
This title is due for release on June 16, 2009
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Angel's Game, Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Angel's Game, Carlos Ruiz Zafón

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.