Augustus

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: John Williams

Narrated By: Robin Field

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: January 2011

Duration: 14 hours 19 minutes

Summary:

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power'Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony'young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man's dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

'Augustus is a masterpiece.''Los Angeles Times

Genres:

  • Robbin

    I know this is a fictional account of history, however, the method in which it is delivered is appalling. The author moves backward and forward in time telling the events through a series of letters, journal entries and official correspondence written to and from various historical figures. The narrator didn't use enough differentiation in his voices and it was extremely difficult to tell when he switched to a new character unless one was paying attention. Most of the time, I used this book as a means of falling asleep on nights when I had trouble getting my mind to calm down.

  • Brian Fitzgerald

    This was a very disappointing choice. I never found the characters likable or interesting enough to care what happened to them. I only finished it because another selection had not arrived.