Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Kim Van Alkemade

Narrated By: Andi Arndt, Corey Brill

Date: March 2018

Duration: 12 hours 17 minutes

Summary:

NOW AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

“Bachelor Girl plunges the reader deep into life during the Jazz Age…and the revealing of other secrets and confessions will keep readers up all night looking for answers.” —Booklist (starred review)

From the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan #8 comes a fresh and intimate novel in the vein of Lilac Girls and The Alice Network about the destructive power of secrets and the redemptive power of love—inspired by the true story of Jacob Ruppert, the millionaire owner of the New York Yankees, and his mysterious bequest in 1939 to an unknown actress, Helen Winthrope Weyant.

When the owner of the New York Yankees baseball team, Colonel Jacob Ruppert, takes Helen Winthrope, a young actress, under his wing, she thinks it’s because of his guilt over her father’s accidental death—and so does Albert Kramer, Ruppert’s handsome personal secretary. Helen and Albert develop a deepening bond the closer they become to Ruppert, an eccentric millionaire who demands their loyalty in return for his lavish generosity.

New York in the Jazz Age is filled with possibilities, especially for the young and single. Yet even as Helen embraces being a “bachelor girl”—a working woman living on her own terms—she finds herself falling in love with Albert, even after he confesses his darkest secret. When Ruppert dies, rumors swirl about his connection to Helen after the stunning revelation that he has left her the bulk of his fortune, which includes Yankee Stadium. But it is only when Ruppert’s own secrets are finally revealed that Helen and Albert will be forced to confront the truth about their relationship to him—and to each other.

Inspired by factual events that gripped New York City in its heyday, Bachelor Girl is a hidden history gem about family, identity, and love in all its shapes and colors.

Genres:

  • Eranthi A.

    Good book

Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8

by Kim Van Alkemade

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8, Kim Van Alkemade
Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8, Kim Van Alkemade
This title is due for release on March 6, 2018.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8, Kim Van Alkemade
This title is due for release on March 6, 2018
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8, Kim Van Alkemade
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8, Kim Van Alkemade

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.