The Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy)

Unabridged Audiobook

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (118)

Narrator Rating (37)

Written By: Katherine Arden

Narrated By: Kathleen Gati

Date: January 2017

Duration: 11 hours 48 minutes

Summary:

Random House presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.

Beware the evil in the woods...

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods. . .

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.

Now with over 100 5* reviews, readers are spellbound by this magical story:

'This book stayed with me, I didn't want it to end'

'A beautifully written story'

'An entrancing story, which swept me up from the very first chapter'

'Full of magic'

Make sure you've read all the books in the acclaimed Winternight Trilogy

1. The Bear and the Nightingale
2. The Girl in the Tower
3. The Winter of the Witch

Genres:

  • Dorte Lassen

    I just loved it! I was sucked into the story. The main character is so frustrating at times, but at the same time you cannot but like her. The story is a true fairytale. Please, listen to it.

  • Anonymous

    Started very slow for me to the point I wanted to quit listening but it gets pretty good about a third of the way in. The writing is good and the story flows well. I love the details regarding the horses so much that I would assume the author is a lover of horses as I am. The narrator did a great job as well. My only Issue is I'm a little disappointed about how Christians and God are portrayed. There's more power given to demons in this book, it seems, but it is a story of the pagan fairy tales so the demons are much more real; God seems like the fairy tale here and fear of God is totally misrepresented and becomes a catalyst for the story. The true biblical meaning of what it is to fear God is never revealed and perhaps the author doesn't know either. The true meaning of the Greek and Hebrew is to have reverential awe and respect for God. Specifically, many, many times throughout the Bible, God said DO NOT FEAR when He revealed Himself, in fact, the Apostle Paul wrote 'you have not received a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind. If you know the truth as a mature Christian, enjoy fantasy, and can overlook this and a few other details, you'll like this book, I did.

  • Niki D.

    Loved every minute, can’t wait to start the next one.

  • Anonymous

    very hard to follow at times

  • Natalie B.

    Really great story! Narrator was wonderful.

  • Ceci

    Loved the story line

  • Olda A.

    I love the scary fantasy! This was so fascinating, it was hard to put down!!

  • Brent B.

    fantastic story. I grew up hearing the story of Mróz, and I routinely tell my son that story. very interesting mingling of folklore and original story.

  • Pauline H.

    I truly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next title in this trilogy.

  • Kristen N

    The book was a little slow for my taste. But very well written. Because most of the characters were unlikable and the setting so inhospitable, it was a bit difficult to feel that usual faerie tale charm. The narrator of the book was flawless.

Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy)

by Katherine Arden

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy), Katherine Arden
Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy), Katherine Arden
This title is due for release on January 12, 2017.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy), Katherine Arden
This title is due for release on January 12, 2017
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy), Katherine Arden
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy), Katherine Arden

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.