Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (481)

Narrator Rating (110)

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Lisa Wingate

Narrated By: Catherine Taber, Emily Rankin

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: June 2017

Duration: 14 hours 30 minutes

Summary:

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Advance praise for Before We Were Yours

“Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power. That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children’s Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river gypsy Rill Foss. Rill’s utterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned, as will Wingate’s courage to follow her anywhere. . . . Vivid and affecting.”—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun

“A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I’m still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls.”—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

“An unforgettable read . . . This captivating novel will quite likely break your heart, but because it’s Lisa Wingate at the helm, you will not be left broken. She is a master storyteller and never fails to get to the heart of what makes us hold on to hope.”—Susan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life

“Lisa Wingate’s heart-racing tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children’s Home Society scandal rang so true I couldn’t sleep until I knew their fate. Days later, I’m still haunted by the diabolical plot to steal and sell the most vulnerable children to high bidders, sanctioned by high-ranking officials who looked the other way.”—Julie Kibler, author of Calling Me Home

Genres:

  • Cassie S

    This was the most fabulous book and the narration was so touching. I had no idea that this was historical fiction prior to listening to it and recommend this highly! I usually only listen in the car and had to find excuses to get into the car as it neared the end!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • colleen c

    Fascinating story and scary because it actually happened since many cases. The book was so well-written I felt like I knew these people intimately! I got through it very quickly and was very sad when it was over

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Cindy L

    Excellent excellent book.

  • E R

    Enjoyable book -- and eye opening, when you learn the truth on which it's based. Everything ties up a little too neatly, but I admit I'd have been disappointed if not! Narration is fabulous.

  • Robin V

    This is one of those stories where the author switches between two tales and you know there must be some connection. It keeps you in suspense. Like another reviewer, I usually only listen in the car, but for this book, I pulled out the ear buds and listened on my phone every chance I got. Excellent tale. I was particularly interested to learn this work of fiction was based on a history I had never heard of. At the end, the author suggests several resources for further historical research and I plan to explore them.

  • Julie N

    Loved this book!

  • Sheila B

    I loved this book! Switching points of view made it so interesting, and you are sort of waiting for one of the characters to put the pieces of a puzzle together and get answers! I didn’t realized that some of the events in the novel are drawn from real life! Just ordered another book the Tennessee Children’s Home Society.

  • Sheila B

    I thought this book was great - just too "unabridged" (long)....

  • Kathy H

    Fantastic book about a horribly sad time in life.

  • Christina K

    Wow. As someone who grew up in Memphis, the descriptions in the book are wonderful and made me homesick. The story is chilling and incredible. I don’t care much for the narrators’ voices when they’re speaking for men, but the accents were very good.