Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Erik Malinowski

Narrated By: George Newbern

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Date: October 2017

Duration: 10 hours 50 minutes

Summary:

“As lively, thorough, and engaging as the team it chronicles” (Nathaniel Friedman), Betaball is a compelling look at how the Golden State Warriors embraced savvy business practices, next generation science, and Silicon Valley’s technocentric culture not only to produce one of the greatest basketball teams in history but also to revolutionize the NBA—perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball.

Betaball is the definitive, inside account of how the Golden State Warriors, under the ownership of venture capitalist Joe Lacob and Hollywood producer Peter Guber, quickly became one of the greatest success stories in both sports and business.

In just five years, they turned a declining franchise with no immediate hope into the NBA’s dominant force—and facilitated the rise of All-Star point guard Stephen Curry. By operating in “beta,” the Warriors morphed into a model organization for American professional sports, instituting the best workplace principles found inside the world’s most successful corporations, and instilling a top-down organizational ethos that allows employees—from the front office to the free-throw line—to thrive.

With in-depth access and meticulous reporting on and off the court, acclaimed journalist Eric Malinowski recounts a gripping tale of a team’s reinvention, of worlds colliding, of ordinary people being pushed to extraordinary heights, and the Golden State Warriors’ chase for a second straight NBA championship during the 2015-’16 season. Betaball is “a book for fans of all sports and science, business and analytics, Silicon Valley and Wall Street, front offices and locker rooms, money and winning” (Don Van Natta Jr., ESPN reporter and New York Times bestselling author).

Genres:

  • Jefferson P.

    In my view, I was expecting to hear more about the analytics that went into building the Warriors. There just doesn't seem to have been a while lot. In addition, this book seems to have been written from the view of a cheerleader. The Warriors allowed the Cavs to come back from a 3-1 deficit in the NBA finals; however, the book seems to make excuses, rather than provide any criticism into why this happened. The narration leaves much to be desired as names of NBA players are mispronounced throughout the book.

Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History

by Erik Malinowski

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History, Erik Malinowski
Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History, Erik Malinowski
This title is due for release on October 3, 2017.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History, Erik Malinowski
This title is due for release on October 3, 2017
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History, Erik Malinowski
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Betaball: How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History, Erik Malinowski

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.