12 Days of Deals promo banner

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (10)

Narrator Rating (4)

The Book of Speculation: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Date: June 2015

Duration: 11 hours 45 minutes

Summary:

'Dazzling...[a] quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga.' --Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants
Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.
One June day, an old book arrives on Simon's doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of 'mermaids' in Simon's family have drowned--always on July 24, which is only weeks away.
As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon's family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola?
In the tradition of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, The Book of Speculation is Erika Swyler's moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

Genres:

  • Julianne O

    Enjoyed listening to this book. I liked the story and the way it was written. The narrator was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Book of Speculation: A Novel

by Erika Swyler

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Book of Speculation: A Novel, Erika Swyler