Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii

Written by:
James L. Haley
Narrated by:
Joe Barrett

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
5
Narrator
2
Release Date
December 2014
Duration
13 hours 36 minutes
Summary
In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war, and culture.

The most recent state to join the union, Hawaii is the only one to have once been a royal kingdom. After its discovery by Captain Cook in the late eighteenth century, Hawaii was fought over by European powers determined to take advantage of its position as the crossroads of the Pacific. The arrival of the first missionaries marked the beginning of the struggle between a native culture with its ancient gods, sexual libertinism, and rites of human sacrifice and the rigid values of the Calvinists. While Hawaii's royal rulers adopted Christianity, they also fought to preserve their ancient ways. But the success of the ruthless American sugar barons sealed their fate, and in 1893 the American Marines overthrew Liliuokalani, the last queen of Hawaii.

Captive Paradise is the story of King Kamehameha I, the Conqueror, who unified the islands through terror and bloodshed but whose dynasty succumbed to inbreeding; of Gilded Age tycoons like Claus Spreckels, who brilliantly outmaneuvered his competitors; of firebrand Lorrin Thurston, who was determined that Hawaii be ruled by whites; of President McKinley, who presided over the eventual annexation of the islands. Not since James Michener's classic novel Hawaii has there been such a vibrant and compelling portrait of an extraordinary place and its people.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Brandon Waluk

Very informative and much credit is due for the correct pronunciation of the Hawaiian words/names places etc.

Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii
This title is due for release on December 30, 2014.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii
This title is due for release on December 30, 2014
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 Book added to cart
Subtotal
$22.95
View Cart