Cardiff, by the Sea: Four Novellas of Suspense

Written by:
Joyce Carol Oates
Narrated by:
Lauren Ezzo

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
October 2020
11 hours 20 minutes
Four brand-new novellas by the #1 New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning 'grand mistress of ghoulishness' (Publishers Weekly).

An academic in Pennsylvania discovers a terrifying trauma from her past after inheriting a house in Cardiff, Maine, from someone she has never heard of. A pubescent girl, overcome with loneliness, befriends a feral cat that becomes her protector from the increasingly aggressive males that surround her. A brilliant but shy college sophomore is distraught to discover that she's pregnant, and the professor who takes her under his wing may not have innocent intentions. And a woman who marries into a family shattered by tragedy finds herself haunted by her predecessor's voice, an inexplicably befouled well, and a compulsive attraction to a garage that took two lives.

In these psychologically daring, chillingly suspenseful pieces, the author of We Were the Mulvaneys and Blonde writes about women facing threats past and present, once again cementing her reputation for 'great intelligence and dead-on imaginative powers' (Los Angeles Times Book Review).
1 book added to cart
View Cart