The CBS Radio Workshop, Vol. 1

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Various Authors

Narrated By: A Full Cast

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: July 2016

Duration: 5 hours 55 minutes


The CBS Radio Workshop regularly featured the works of the world's greatest writers, including Ray Bradbury, Archibald MacLeish, William Saroyan, Lord Dunsany, and Ambrose Bierce, among others. The radio series aired from January 27, 1956, through September 22, 1957, and was a revival of the prestigious Columbia Workshop from the 1930s and 1940s.

Creator William Froug launched the series with this powerhouse two-part adaptation of Brave New World and booked author Aldous Huxley to narrate his famous novel. The Columbia Workshop radio drama was innovative in giving authors, directors, sound engineers, and composers many opportunities to experiment with the use of sound as a device for enhancing narrative. Columbia Workshop received a 1946 Peabody Award for Outstanding Entertainment in Drama.

This eclectic collection of The CBS Radio Workshop shows includes the following episodes:

"The Storm" by George Stuart, starring William Conrad, 2/10/56, "Season of Disbelief" and "Hail and Farewell" by Ray Bradbury, starring John Dehner, 2/17/56, "An Interview with William Shakespeare," starring Hans Conried, 2/24/56, "Voice of the City," starring Clifton Fadiman, 3/2/56, "Report on ESP" by Leonard St. Clair, starring John McIntire, 3/9/56, "Cops and Robbers" by Stanley Niss, starring Larry Haines, 3/16/56, "The Legend of Jimmy Blue-Eyes," starring William Conrad, 3/23/56, "The Ex-Urbanites," starring Eric Sevareid, 3/30/56, "Speaking of Cinderella; or, If the Shoe Fits," starring Vincent Price, 4/6/56, "Jacob's Hands" by Aldous Huxley, starring Hans Conried, 4/13/56, "Portrait of a Tycoon," starring Martin Weldon, 4/20/56, and "The Record Collectors" by William Woodson, starring John Dehner, 4/27/56.


CBS Radio Workshop, Vol. 1

by Various Authors

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

CBS Radio Workshop, Vol. 1, Various Authors