The Chronicles of Prydain, Books 1 & 2: 50th Anniversary Introductory Collection

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Lloyd Alexander

Narrated By: James Langton

Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)

Date: September 2014

Duration: 10 hours 30 minutes


The Chronicles of Prydain, Books 1 & 2:

Book 1: The Book of Three:
Taran, The Assistant Pig-Keeper, longs to be a hero.

He begins his journey with a strange assortment of companions on a dangerous mission to save his beloved land, Prydain.  Packed with action, humor, romance, and gallantry, Taran's adventures chronicle his beloved Prydain and his battle with the forces of evil. 

Book 2: The Black Cauldron 
Peace reigns in Caer Dallben, where Taran works as Assistant Pig-Keeper, but evil threatens the rest of Prydain. The diabolical Arawn’s army grows every day, and his terrible warriors never die. They are born in the Black Cauldron from the stolen bodies of slain soldiers. If evil is to be defeated, the cauldron must be destroyed. Taran volunteers to travel to Arawn’s stronghold and assist in the destruction of the dreaded cauldron. With his faithful friends reassembled, Taran marches off to face great danger with a courageous heart.


  • Josh B

    The book was good and what I expected it to be. I look forward to the next ones in the series. The narration was fine with the exception of when he spoke as Eilonwy; who was annoyingly slow with multi-syllabled words, and especially Grystyl. The moany, sobby, dopey, whiney, slow voice he chose for the creature borders on enraging by the time the character is fully revealed. I absolutely hated hearing him and was glad when they moved on from that part of the book.