Classical Music 101: A Complete Guide to Learning and Loving Classical Music

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Fred Plotkin

Narrated By: Fred Plotkin

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: June 2005

Duration: 19 hours 29 minutes


From the author of the bestselling Opera 101 comes a comprehensive and highly accessible guide to discovering the glories of classical music, based on the fundamental principle of developing the skills to truly listen. In clear and entertaining prose, Plotkin explores a thousand years of music, introducing listeners to more than one hundred great works and profiling in depth many significant composers, including Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Berlioz, Tchaikovsky, Dvorák, and Mahler. Plotkin illustrates how each piece of music possesses its own sound world, which is created by the unique style, voice, and vision of each composer, and made even more distinct by every musician who plays it. He defines major musical terms, and makes music theory comprehensible for the uninitiated. Conversations with important musicians offer fascinating insights into the art.

"About as thorough and detailed an introduction for the average beginner as I could imagine. It is also fascinating reading for seasoned listeners...An extraordinary survey."-Washington Post