Closing Time: A Memoir

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Joe Queenan

Narrated By: Johnny Heller

Publisher: Tantor Media

Date: June 2009

Duration: 12 hours 30 minutes

Summary:

Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood-with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary-and into the wider world. Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.

Genres:

Closing Time: A Memoir

by Joe Queenan

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Closing Time: A Memoir, Joe Queenan
Closing Time: A Memoir, Joe Queenan
This title is due for release on June 16, 2009.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Closing Time: A Memoir, Joe Queenan
This title is due for release on June 16, 2009
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Closing Time: A Memoir, Joe Queenan
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Closing Time: A Memoir, Joe Queenan

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.