Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (41)

Narrator Rating (2)

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Larry Loftis

Narrated By: Kate Reading

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Date: January 2019

Duration: 10 hours 1 minutes

Summary:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist
Florida Book Awards Silver Medalist
Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today!
Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub
“A nonfiction thriller.”—The Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Genres:

  • James F.

    If you expect “Code Name Lise” to be s spy thriller, you will be disappointed. The book’s beginning is intriguing: an “ordinary” mother of three is recruited for a position she is convinced is beyond her capabilities. Odette (aka Lise) is bold and effective as a currier in the French Resistance in Nazi controlled France. But she was quickly arrested and imprisoned. The bulk of the book is the true story of her survival of unspeakable torture and inhuman treatment in Nazi prisons. I found it depressing.

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman

by Larry Loftis

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis
Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis
This title is due for release on January 15, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis
This title is due for release on January 15, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman, Larry Loftis

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.