Dead Letters: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Caite Dolan-Leach

Narrated By: Jorjeana Marie

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: February 2017

Duration: 13 hours 37 minutes

Summary:

A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel with eccentric, dysfunctional characters who will keep you guessing until the end—for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Wife Between Us.
 
Ava has her reasons for running away to Paris. But when she receives the shocking news that her twin sister, Zelda, is dead, she is forced to return home to her family’s failing vineyard in upstate New York. Knowing Zelda’s penchant for tricks and deception, Ava is not surprised when she receives her twin’s cryptic message from beyond the grave. Following her sister’s trail of clues, Ava immerses herself in Zelda’s drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers, and soon finds herself confronted with dark family legacies and twisted relationships. Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut thriller is a literary scavenger hunt for secrets hidden everywhere from wine country to social media, and buried at the dysfunctional heart of one utterly unforgettable family.
 
Praise for Dead Letters
 
“Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld.”—Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone
 
“A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know . . . Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O’Neill.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“A smart, dazzling mystery . . . Dolan-Leach revels in toying with both Ava and her audience . . . and the result is captivating.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Draws you in like you are part of the story itself, living and breathing alongside the compelling characters as they uncover the dark secrets of their complicated family.”—Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten
 
“Push-pull tension . . . This book is wine-soaked yet lucid, comforting and frightening, asking the big questions about intimacy and loyalty.”—Caroline Kepnes, author of You

Genres:

  • Katie C

    Oh my god this family! The mother is an alcoholic and has been diagnosed with dementia. The father is a chronic adulterer and abandoned his family to have another. Finally, Ava runs away from her problems. They all seem to hate one another. Mom, dad, and Ava are always taking little digs at one another. The whole family is passive aggressive. There's definitely a lot of play on the alphabet and the letters in the novel. It took me until chapter 3 to realize that there are 26 chapters each starting from A-to-Z with the letter of the alphabet. There's also a lot of alliteration and the games from Zelda. Zelda betrayed Ava no doubt over a boy which is totally cliché. That's the main reason Ava took off to Paris for 2 years. When she hears of Zelda's death, Ava starts to investigate whether Zelda is dead or if she has disappeared. She knows Zelda better than anyone else and knows that there's something unusual about the manner of her death. There is not a single likable character in the novel. Not even Wyatt who loves Ava unconditionally even though she treats him like crap. He's like a lost puppy dog. I definitely want to stop reading this and classify it as a did not finish but I was slightly intrigued with what was going on with Zelda.

  • Barbara Elfman

    Wonderful characters and great story. I usually can figure out mysteries early on, but this kept me going!