Divorcing: A Fragment

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: John Updike

Narrated By: Peter Van Norden

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: July 2014

Duration: 0 hours 6 minutes


The Maples Stories consists of eighteen classic stories from across John Updike’s career, forming a luminous chronicle of the life and times of one marriage in all its rich emotional complexity. In 1956, Updike published the story “Snowing in Greenwich Village,” about a young couple, Joan and Richard Maple, at the beginning of their marriage. Over the next two decades, he returned to these characters again and again, tracing their years together raising children, finding moments of intermittent happiness, and facing the heartbreak of infidelity and estrangement.

“Divorcing: A Fragment,” the sixteenth story in the Maples saga, offers a glimpse into the heartbreaking complexity of a relationship’s collapse, no matter how flawed.

“The stories are full of striking passages…and Updike’s rich prose, his rhythmic, acute, fertile and, at times, even somewhat glutting use of language”—The Guardian on The Maples Stories


Divorcing: A Fragment

by John Updike

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Divorcing: A Fragment, John Updike