Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Walt Whitman

Narrated By: Expatriate

Publisher: LibriVox

Date: January 2011

Duration: 1 hours 37 minutes


Drum Taps is the next collection of poems published by Walt Whitman after his famous Leaves of Grass. This collection is a direct response to Whitman's personal observations of the Civil War, many of which come from his volunteer efforts in wartime hospitals. Despite the miseries of war described, Whitman's poems in Drum Taps assert a steady patriotism in favor of Lincoln's war effort. Interestingly, the 1915 edition used for this reading includes an introduction from the Times Literary Supplement which draws analogies between the Civil War and the current throes of World War I, enlisting Whitman posthumously as a supporter of the Allied campaign against Germany. - Summary by Expatriate



by Walt Whitman

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Drum-Taps, Walt Whitman