Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (80)

Narrator Rating (18)

Dumplin'

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Julie Murphy

Narrated By: Eileen Stevens

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Date: September 2015

Duration: 9 hours 2 minutes

Summary:

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Genres:

  • Nichole W

    Loved this book. The Texas drawl of the narrator was infectious!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Lisa V

    Very surprised at this great book. So glad I decided to listen to it. It expresses the challenges and insecurities we face at any age and how we overcome through pressing on and not giving up.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Lu C

    Dumplin' is an excellent book. The author captures the awkwardness and magic of being a teenager. She also does a really good job of realistically writing about family dynamics, grieving for a loved one and coping with high school. The storyline is well-paced and well told. The narrator does an excellent job of creating images for the listener. Listening to this book was like watching a movie.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Cindy L

    Wonderful surprise! This is a wonderful listen, good character development, continuous story-line without slow sections, easy for most to relate to and a lead character with pizzazz. Narrator was great.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Jennifer Castanon

    Loved it! Relatable and satisfying. Narration was great.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Kristy P

    This isn't the type of book I usually read, as it is kind of a "coming of age" with some teen romance in there, but it kept my attention and it's a story I think most people can relate to in one way or another. I liked it. The narrator was good, but her portrayal of the male voices was strange and I could never get used to it enough to not be a little annoyed. Otherwise, though, she did a good job. It's the kind of book you should read if you're looking for something that is fun and has a good story, and sucks you in enough to hold your attention, but not to derail the rest of your life because you can't stop listening. (Which is what I was looking for after a Ken Follett book, which basically takes over because I can't stop.) Some people seem to be unsatisfied by the ending, but, while it caught me off guard (so I'll admit, it was abrupt), upon further reflection, I can't think of a better way to wrap it up and I ended up more or less appreciating the ending.

  • Crystal S

    I was pleasantly pleased with this book. Classic teenage drama however I was sadly disappointed that it just ended. I would have loved to know more about Bo and Willow

  • shellie kalinsky

    I felt like the narrator's voice was easy to listen to. I thought the ending of the book left me hanging. It was a little open-ended. But overall it was entertaining and I liked it.