Epicurus: The Principal Doctrines (Essential Epicurus)

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Epicurus

Narrated By: Josh Verbae

Publisher: Interactive Media

Date: November 2014

Duration: 0 hours 16 minutes


For Epicurus, the purpose of philosophy was to attain the happy, tranquil life, characterized by peace and freedom from fear, the absence of pain, and by living a self-sufficient life surrounded by friends. He taught that pleasure and pain are the measures of what is good and evil; death is the end of both body and soul and should therefore not be feared; the gods neither reward nor punish humans; the universe is infinite and eternal; and events in the world are ultimately based on the motions and interactions of atoms. Although much of Epicurus' written work has been lost, his surviving principal doctrines form a complete foundation of his teaching. This audio book adaptation features all 40 principles, read in English, unabridged.


Epicurus: The Principal Doctrines (Essential Epicurus)

by Epicurus

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Epicurus: The Principal Doctrines (Essential Epicurus), Epicurus