Every Falling Star: The True Story of How I Survived and Escaped North Korea

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Sungju Lee, Susan McClelland

Narrated By: David Shih

Publisher: Tantor Media

Date: September 2016

Duration: 9 hours 25 minutes


Every Falling Star, the first book to portray contemporary North Korea to a young audience, is the intense memoir of a North Korean boy named Sungju who is forced at age twelve to live on the streets and fend for himself. To survive, Sungju creates a gang and lives by thieving, fighting, begging, and stealing rides on cargo trains. Sungju richly re-creates his scabrous story, depicting what it was like for a boy alone to create a new family with his gang, his "brothers"; to be hungry and to fear arrest, imprisonment, and even execution. This riveting memoir allows young listeners to learn about other cultures where freedoms they take for granted do not exist.