Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (187)

Narrator Rating (25)

The Gathering Storm: Book Twelve of 'The Wheel of Time'

Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Date: October 2009

Duration: 33 hours 4 minutes


Tarmon Gai'don, the Last Battle, looms. And mankind is not ready. The final volume of the Wheel of Time, A Memory of Light, was partially written by Robert Jordan before his untimely passing in 2007. Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of the Mistborn books, was chosen by Jordan's editor---his wife, Harriet McDougal---to complete the final book. The scope and size of the volume was such that it could not be contained in a single book, and so Tor proudly presents The Gathering Storm as the first of three novels that will make up A Memory of Light. This short sequence will complete the struggle against the Shadow, bringing to a close a journey begun almost twenty years ago and marking the conclusion of the Wheel of Time, the preeminent fantasy epic of our era. In this epic novel, Robert Jordan's international bestselling series begins its dramatic conclusion. Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, struggles to unite a fractured network of kingdoms and alliances in preparation for the Last Battle. As he attempts to halt the Seanchan encroachment northward---wishing he could form at least a temporary truce with the invaders---his allies watch in terror the shadow that seems to be growing within the heart of the Dragon Reborn himself. Egwene al'Vere, the Amyrlin Seat of the rebel Aes Sedai, is a captive of the White Tower and subject to the whims of their tyrannical leader. As days tick toward the Seanchan attack she knows is imminent, Egwene works to hold together the disparate factions of Aes Sedai while providing leadership in the face of increasing uncertainty and despair. Her fight will prove the mettle of the Aes Sedai, and her conflict will decide the future of the White Tower---and possibly the world itself. The Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.


  • Juan W

    Absolutely the best in the series so far! I loved how it was ending and leading us to an even more exciting book. We jumped right into the next one. This book would be much less exciting without the readers. They do this great work justice!

  • S Hyman

    It was a beautiful work of art that was incomplete by the passing of the original author Robert Jordan. Brandon Sanderson stepped up and did the book and the series justice. The readers, Michael Kramer and Kate Redding, are fabulous and convey the emotions of the characters and the author’s mind’s eye. This book is my third favorite in the series after the first, The Eye if the World, and the last, A Memory of Light.

  • Andy B

    good book, great series. 2nd time through it. Brandon Sanderson has done a good job carrying on this work.

  • craig specht

    Very good book, looking forward to listening to the other books. The narrators again have done a great job!

  • willy boland

    The change of author hasn't lessened this series in any way. This book is every bit the good read that all previous wheel of time books are. Whole heartedly recommended if you're a Robert Jordan fan.

  • Charles Johns

    I thought there might be a drop off in quality but I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Steven Fendry

    This series has been great! Audiobooks has made my hour long commute enjoyable! Especially on the new IOS!

  • Jonathan Stanley

    best series in its genre opens a whole world the wheel wheels as the wheel wills truly an epic

  • Anonymous

    The new author did a great job of continuing the series in the style of Robert Jordan, which is a good thing, because I'm anxious to hear how this series will finally conclude.

  • gene

    boring, i just couldn't follow the story. i just keep drifting away, couldn't make myself keep listening.