Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (39)

Narrator Rating (6)

The German Girl: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Armando Lucas Correa

Narrated By: Joy Osmanski

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date: October 2016

Duration: 11 hours 0 minutes

Summary:

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler’s List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about twelve-year-old Hannah Rosenthal’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.

Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they’ll meet it together.

Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers’ fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.

The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.

Genres:

  • Cathy B

    A good story really capturing a piece of history. Well written and has good pace. Unfortunately the narrator spoke very quickly which ,Made me feel like I was rushing through the story to catch a plane! Much to rushed and fast for my liking. Other than this feature, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

  • Daisy Castro

    This is such a beautiful novel. The fact that it takes place during a historically documented period makes this novel even more touching. I will say that in retrospect I would have preferred to read this instead of listen to it. At times the narrator's voice was distracting to the overall mood of the scene. Still, it is a beautiful and emotional story.

German Girl: A Novel

by Armando Lucas Correa

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

German Girl: A Novel, Armando Lucas Correa