Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (45)

Narrator Rating (9)

The German Girl: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Armando Lucas Correa

Narrated By: Joy Osmanski

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Date: October 2016

Duration: 11 hours 0 minutes

Summary:

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

“An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.” —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “engrossing and heartbreaking” (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and We Were the Lucky Ones.

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.

Genres:

  • Cathy B

    A good story really capturing a piece of history. Well written and has good pace. Unfortunately the narrator spoke very quickly which ,Made me feel like I was rushing through the story to catch a plane! Much to rushed and fast for my liking. Other than this feature, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

  • Daisy Castro

    This is such a beautiful novel. The fact that it takes place during a historically documented period makes this novel even more touching. I will say that in retrospect I would have preferred to read this instead of listen to it. At times the narrator's voice was distracting to the overall mood of the scene. Still, it is a beautiful and emotional story.

German Girl: A Novel

by Armando Lucas Correa

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

German Girl: A Novel, Armando Lucas Correa
German Girl: A Novel, Armando Lucas Correa
This title is due for release on October 18, 2016.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
German Girl: A Novel, Armando Lucas Correa
This title is due for release on October 18, 2016
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
German Girl: A Novel, Armando Lucas Correa
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
German Girl: A Novel, Armando Lucas Correa

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.