Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (72)

Narrator Rating (18)

The Girls: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Emma Cline

Narrated By: Cady McClain

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: June 2016

Duration: 9 hours 46 minutes

Summary:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.Praise for The GirlsSpellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry . . . [Emma] Cline gorgeously maps the topography of one loneliness-ravaged adolescent heart. She gives us the fictional truth of a girl chasing danger beyond her comprehension, in a Summer of Longing and Loss.The New York Times Book Review[The Girls reimagines] the American novel . . . Like Mary Gaitskill's Veronica or Lorrie Moore's Who Will Run the Frog Hospital?, The Girls captures a defining friendship in its full humanity with a touch of rock-memoir, tell-it-like-it-really-was attitude.VogueDebut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline's ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that's gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager's consciousness. The adult's melancholy reflection and the girl's swelling impetuousness are flawlessly braided together. . . . For a story that traffics in the lurid notoriety of the Manson murders, The Girls is an extraordinary act of restraint. With the maturity of a writer twice her age, Cline has written a wise novel that's never showy: a quiet, seething confession of yearning and terror.The Washington PostEmma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture's fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind.Lena Dunham Emma Cline's first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction.Jennifer Egan I don't know which is more amazing, Emma Cline's understanding of human beings or her mastery of language.Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Genres:

  • Jeremy H

    The Girls is a solid read. Emma Cline can turn a phrase! Very vivid writing. This story stuck with me long after I finished it.

  • Carly K

    Entertaining but I expected it to be about a cult, and it was really a coming of age book. Still really enjoyed.

  • Steven Van Loan

    Stunning writing. Meticulous detail which allows the reader to feel as though they were right there, smelling the smells, experiencing the grittiness and rawness of the characters, settings and situations. This writer has a brilliant gift for analogies, which kept me hooked throughout the story. It was rough subject material, but well done.

  • Laura Bofill

    This book was entertaining enough and I never felt like I was forcing myself to slog through it, but it also wasn't amazing. I found myself thinking that if I wanted to read a book about the Manson murders, I'd rather it be a non-fiction version. The story is basically the backstory of the Manson family with the names changed - there's an obvious Charles Manson, Dennis Wilson, Tex Watson, and several small details are identical. The actual murders are a little different but not much. I also went back and forth on the writing style - at times I really liked it, at others I felt like it was a bit overdone and tried to hard to sound literary. Wouldn't read again, but I'm not mad about finishing it.

  • Jessica Tynan

    At first it was difficult to get into. After the first few chapters it captured me and I found it intriguing.

  • Kendra Wells

    Boring, was always wondering when something big was going to happen and it never did. I did enjoy the way it was written.

  • Paula Mathewson

    Trite, wordy, and as self-absorbed as the main character. Would not recommend.

  • Kelly Felcoskie

    Very close to the Manson murders in plot. Not very original

  • Book Critic

    Somewhat long and parts of it were dragged out, but it was beautifully written and a captivating story.