The Great Poets: John Masefield

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: John Masefield

Narrated By: Ronald Pickup

Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks

Date: June 2013

Duration: 1 hours 8 minutes


John Masefield (1878–1967) was one of the most prolific, popular and successful poets of the twentieth century. Masefield broke upon Edwardian literature with the startling work entitled The Everlasting Mercy, which described the spiritual enlightenment of a drunken poacher. Over the span of his lifetime, he was appointed Poet Laureate and amassed a large number of admirers, which included such high-profile names as John Betjeman, Robert Graves and W.B. Yeats. This collection contains thirty-six poems and spans Masefield’s entire career. There are early poems from Salt-Water Ballads (1902) and Ballads (1903), followed by extracts from the narrative poems The Everlasting Mercy, Dauber and Reynard the Fox. The selection also includes a number of sonnets including ‘On Growing Old’, as well as his poetry on the Romans, alongside a number of rarities.


Great Poets: John Masefield

by John Masefield

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Great Poets: John Masefield, John Masefield