Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (16)

Narrator Rating (11)

Half Bad

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Sally Green

Narrated By: Carl Prekopp

Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)

Date: March 2014

Duration: 8 hours 37 minutes

Summary:

In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan's father is the world's most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust not even family, not even the girl he loves?In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.

Genres:

  • Paiten Reynolds

    I like this story a lot, a tad of romance with the promise of more, juicy secrets and a strong main character despite all the hard ships. I fell in love with him from the first chapter. The narrator has really good expression and separates voices just enough to help the listener follow along, but not in an annoying over dramatic way which can happen with some narrators. I find that the narration of an audiobook is just as important as the story itself. If you find a really good book, and the narrator bugs the heck out of you, it honestly ruins the book. My only complaint is that he pronounces the name "Gabriel" like "Gabrielle". Might have something to do with the accent, but I doubt it.

  • taylor kutzley

    Quiet enjoyed it. I listen to this as I drove to and from work, and I instantly got hooked

  • Kevin Senatus

    Overall excellent book. Half Wild is sure to be better and more exciting. This series may not top your average witch-drama books, but it sure does come close--so close that it comes just second to Harry Potter.

  • Crystal Morris

    Well done great 21st century witch story. Their world fits seamlessly in ours, unlike certain other 'magical civilizations', us muggles (oops) can suspend disbelief easily and get right into the plot and plight of the main character 'Nathan'.