Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Rayya Elias

Narrated By: Christina Delaine

Date: September 2020

Duration: 9 hours 25 minutes

Summary:

When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.

Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias's passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets-between her visits to jail.

This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias's wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful listen that's sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.

Contains mature themes.

Genres:

Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

by Rayya Elias

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side, Rayya Elias
Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side, Rayya Elias
This title is due for release on September 29, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side, Rayya Elias
This title is due for release on September 29, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side, Rayya Elias
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk from the Middle East to the Lower East Side, Rayya Elias

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.